Sportsbook | Casino | Racebook | Mobile |

Written by   

Golf betting fans are anxiously awaiting the 138th British Open Championship to take place at Turnberry in South Ayrshire, Scotland. Golf betting fans will have the cream of the crop to choose from for the British Open Championship as the best in the world will all be there for the honor of competing for the title.

About two thirds of the golf betting field of 156 for the British Open Championship will receive an exemption to enter play.

The golf betting field starts with the top 10 finishers for the 2008 British Open.  That would of course include last year’s golf betting winner Padraig Harrington along with Robert Allenby, Stephen Ames, Paul Casey, Ben Curtis, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, David Howell, Robert Karlsson, Anthony Kim, Greg Norman, Ian Poulter, Henrik Stenson, Steve Stricker, and Chris Wood.

Harrington took last year’s British Open golf betting title with a 4-stroke advantage over Poulter at Birkdale.  It was Harrington’s second consecutive British Open golf betting title.

In addition to the top 10 finishers in last year’s British Open golf betting tournament another exemption would be past British Open golf betting champions from 1999-2008 as well as those aged 60 or under.  This would add Mark Calcavecchia, John Daly, David Duval, Nick Faldo, Todd Hamilton, Paul Lawrie, Tom Lehman, Justin Leonard, Sandy Lyle, Mark O’Meara, Tom Watson, and Tiger Woods to the mix.  Keep in mind that Woods missed last year due to his knee surgery but has been a past champion of the British Open in 2000, 2005, and 2006

After that it’s the first 50 players listed on the Official World Golf Rankings for the 21st week of 2009.  This would add Masters Champion Angel Cabrera, among others, to the list.

After that the exemptions include the first 30 in the PGA European Tour Final Order of Merit for 2008, the BMW PGA Championship winners of 2007-2009, the US Open winners of 2005-2009, Masters winners for 2005-2009, PGA Champions for 2004-2008, and PGA Tour Players Champions for 2007-2009. With a field this strong, the handicapping challenge is great but so are the potential rewards.


Current Promotions

NFL Football Betting | MLB Baseball Betting | Horse Racing | NBA Basketball Betting | NCAA College Basketball | NHL Betting